780Tuners Edmonton Car Forums
780Tuners Edmonton Car Forums Edmonton Car Forums > 780Tuners Edmonton Car Forums Archive > The Marketplace > Where To Buy: Goods & Services

 
JDM Wholesale Canada - Click HERE for Original Thread

Bad Egg
I have not dealt with these guys in a business transaction, but I thought I would throw out a warning to those who deal with them. They seem to play loose with the facts.

Before I put my Celica GT-Four up for sale I did an Auto Trader search to see what the market was like so I could set a reasonable price. These guys have a nice JDM on their site: http://www.canadatrader.com/result/...gno=1&srt=1

The thing that got me wondering was their claim of 260 HP from the factory. Since I happen to own the same car, I know that there is only 220 or 225 HP(depends on what site you read) claimed from the factory for the 5th generation ST185. Since they seem to be exaggerating by about 40 HP, I sent them an email and asked what was special about this car. This is the reply:
quote:
Hi,

Thanks for the inquiry, The Japanese version of these cars was 175kw factory, which works out at around 260hp, the exhaust might add 10hp at best. If you would like to view the car you can call <xxxxxx> during business hours to arrange a time to view.

Thanks

James Robinson



This James Robinson from jdm-wholesale.com seems to be an agent of the related Australian company that supports the Canadian dealership. I did send him a reply with a correction, citing links that show the specs, and got no further reply. Either he sucks at math and can't convert the numbers right, or he is full of crap.

I have not dealt with the Canadian dealership, so I cannot comment if they are legit or not, but for some reason this crap just pisses me off.

Inzane
Interesting.

According to my math, 175 kw = ~ 235 hp.

Bad Egg
quote:
Originally posted by Inzane
Interesting.

According to my math, 175 kw = ~ 235 hp.



If it was a Carlos Sainez RC model, that would be about right...but it isn't one of those, either.

zee
I purchased my 1990 Lexus LS 400 / Toyota Celsior from JDM Wholesale Canada about a year ago they described the condition of the car to me exactly as it came, I was impressed; I researched the technical specs myself.
http://forums.780tuners.com/showthr...;threadid=41877

In the case of this GT-4 I guess they want to make the sale and they didn’t want to downplay there initial word; so they tried to feed you crap, I would be pissed of 2 if someone tried feeding me crap :lol:

I would defiantly buy from JDM Wholesale Canada. Usually a person who owns a specific car or is looking to buy a specific car knows more about the car’s specs than the salesmen.

eL²
its not the first time ive seen the st185 listed with the st205 specs..

Bad Egg
It is a recognizable mistake for those of us who are into these cars, but what about Joe Schmoe who actually relies on the salespeople for his information. I gave them the correct information over a week ago and they couldn't be bothered to reply or change their ad, which is obviously deceptive(intentionally or not). Of course you get the same BS with most salespeople, they just want to move the goods without any regard to accountability.

These are importers, they should know the facts on the freakin' cars they sell. It's not like they have a lot of them to keep track of. It's a minor matter, but it casts doubts on their credibility when they can't fix a glaring mistake like that. As usual, you have to rely on your own diligence to get the facts, while ignoring the salespeople who should be a source of accurate information.

zee
quote:
Originally posted by Bad Egg
As usual, you have to rely on your own diligence to get the facts, while ignoring the salespeople who should be a source of accurate information.


True that




Do you want to post a reply? This is the 780tuners.com archive, to participate in daily discussions on cars, visit our forums website and register today! Its free.

< Contact Us - 780Tuners Edmonton Car Forums - Advertising Info - Archive >

Powered by: vBulletin Version 2.3.9
Hosted by: Beyond Car Forums
Sponsored by: Replicon's Web TimeSheet - timesheet software
for time tracking Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.