| Cody D |
I received a phone call the other night from a fairly rude guy asking if I was still selling my vehicle I told him I was and he starts in on a sales pitch like this:
"We are a lease return company that finances people to buy vehicles, for the low price of $199.00 we gaurantee to sell your vehicle within 90 days or your money back."
From the start it sounded like a scam to me, so I say that I'm not interest, then his tone gets even more rude:
Him: "Don't you want to sell your vehicle?" (Very aggresive and rude)
Me: "Well, I guess not." (Very condescending)
Him: "Well people can't afford a vehicle like yours without putting their house up as collateral, we will finance people at a low interest rate and we gaurantee your money" (Still rude)
Me: "Not interested."
Him: Hangs up.
Well I decided to search to see if someone has had a similar experience and I've found out that a fair bit of people have actually been scammed by this service, they have several different websites such as MYCARSOLD.CA, MYAUTOSOLD.CA and some others I can't remember. Apparently they don't update their site and they don't give the refund when your vehicle does not sell through them.
I thought I should post this since it seems like a fair bit of people have been scammed by this company. The number I was contacted from is 1-403-366-1761. |
|
|
| boarderfatty |
| Yah Im pretty sure there is a thread archived about this, i got scamed with greatcarsandtrucks.com You can get your money back. but it will cost like $100 in filing fees |
|
|
| Cody D |
quote: Originally posted by boarderfatty
Yah Im pretty sure there is a thread archived about this, i got scamed with greatcarsandtrucks.com You can get your money back. but it will cost like $100 in filing fees
I tried searching, I found some posts on Beyond, but I couldn't find any here, I still figured it would be good to let people know that they aren't legit about trying to sell your vehicle. |
|
|
| boarderfatty |
| Its always good bringing it up again, cause people can become ignorant when it comes to selling their cars, especially after some of the talks those guys give, "how nice your car is, get you your full asking price, buyers already lined up, money back guarentee" I thought it was an awsome deal. Then I realized they do nothing to promote their products or site, and that you need to get forms notarized by a public notary to get your refund after 90 days. But you get nothing back if you sell it before then, even if it was not through them, or way below your asking price. |
|
|
| saladonthebeach |
Apparently, this guy isn't too happy with greatcarsandtrucks.com either.
http://calgary.kijiji.ca/c-cars-veh...0QQAdIdZ8860925
Too bad bloodsuckers still exist, lurking around to take advantage of peeps. Some focker called my ad that was in the Bargain Finder to ask if I wanted to try out their method of instant selling... I told them if they give me my asking price, they can do what ever they want with the car... otherwise, don't focken phone any more. lol |
|
|
| Cody D |
quote: Originally posted by saladonthebeach
I told them if they give me my asking price, they can do what ever they want with the car... otherwise, don't focken phone any more. lol
That's great, haha. |
|
|
| elrhyso |
| greatcarsandtrucks.com is a scam as well, same premise... these assholes just call every number in the canadatrader, hoping to find some willing to try it. lets find their building and fuckin burn it down. |
|
|
| mwdguy |
| Terry or other mods how about a sticky for this one?> |
|
|
| stealth |
quote: Originally posted by elrhyso
greatcarsandtrucks.com is a scam as well, same premise... these assholes just call every number in the canadatrader, hoping to find some willing to try it. lets find their building and fuckin burn it down.
By building, you mean their moms basement right? |
|
|
| JonJonPoPong |
If you get scamed and paid by credit card, just refute the charges, your credit card company will side with your allways.
Alot of people used to scam chinese farmers off ebay for the game lineage 2 that way, buy the in game money, get it, then call thier cc company and refute the charge.
If someone rips you off and you paid by credit card, simply do that. |
|
|
| kold |
I whois'ed greatcarsandtrucks.com - This is what I got.
quote:
Last update of whois database: Thu, 5 Oct 2006 15:45:57 EDT
Registrant:
Audrey Schmid
268 Beddington Circle N.W.
Calgary, AB T3K 1K7
Canada
Registrar: DomainPeople Inc.
Domain Name: greatcarsandtrucks.com
Created on .............Tue Oct 22 17:13:07 2002
Expires on .............Thu Oct 22 17:13:07 2009
Record last updated on .Tue Sep 28 23:32:23 2004
Status .................LOCK
Administrative Contact:
Audrey Schmid
Audrey Schmid
268 Beddington Circle N.W.
Calgary, AB
T3K 1K7, CA
403 516 1545
audie@shaw.ca[/email]
Technical Contact:
Plus5 Media
Dan Waldon
Box 75042 Cambrian PO
Calgary, AB
T2K 6J8, CA
403 210 5555
[email]dan@plus5media.com
|
|
|
| SilviaDrifter |
| lets go kill him haha |
|
|
| GOT BOOST |
quote: Originally posted by mwdguy
Terry or other mods how about a sticky for this one?>
Hi mwdguy,
Ok, I will sticky this for a week then move it to the "Archives"
Mike. |
|
|
| SilverNeonRacer |
quote: Originally posted by JonJonPoPong
If you get scamed and paid by credit card, just refute the charges, your credit card company will side with your allways.
Alot of people used to scam chinese farmers off ebay for the game lineage 2 that way, buy the in game money, get it, then call thier cc company and refute the charge.
If someone rips you off and you paid by credit card, simply do that.
Not always, I know somebody who got scammed into buy a virus, disguised as antivirus software, i told her to dispute the charges.. cc co said umm no.
I almost want to advertise a car I don't have and see if I get one of these calls.... and waste their time, just drag them along with questions, and humming and hawing.... you know try and see if you can drag it out a few hours.... :P |
|
|
| McFly |
these are not scams at all.
I have tried them numerous times and sure they have not sold my car but since my dad is a notary public it is very easy to get the money back as they usually say "to get your money back after the 90 days you need to have a document from a notary public stating the car is not sold"
scam.....not at all
nigeria emails on the other hand are......send me 10k for my 5 million;) |
|
|
| Cody D |
quote: Originally posted by McFly
these are not scams at all.
I have tried them numerous times and sure they have not sold my car but since my dad is a notary public it is very easy to get the money back as they usually say "to get your money back after the 90 days you need to have a document from a notary public stating the car is not sold"
scam.....not at all
I would say that they are a scam they don't actually try to sell your vehicle, and you lose money due to that (unless you know a notary), hence it's a scam. |
|
|
| InitialD |
add these on the list:
1-403-537-0081
1-403-207-1816
1-403-207-4696
same story, still scam! |
|
|
| omniman69 |
i got one of those 5 mil emails, bastards.
mike |
|
|
| kevito_ |
| Thanks for the head's up... most of us appreciate it. :thumbup: |
|
|
| Britain |
I got a call from allan today. lol. Friendly guy. 501c3 company he said. lol I'll get business name and number.
Allan
Longwood industries
1-800-821-7025 |
|
|
| Cody D |
| Well I got another call from these people today, she started out talking about my Truck as if she was interested, then she went into her pitch, I let her get through it, then I told her it was a scam, when she said no, I explained to her about the signed documnet from a notary that is needed to get your money back, which costs a fair bit, making it so that people will just not bother getting their money back. She sounded like she had no clue about the last part so I just told her she should quit then hung up. |
|
|
|